Mobile Internet

In both two articles, Wijetunga and Wasserman discussed mobile Internet use in a certain area. Although the place they focused on are totally different, both of authors discussed the relationship between digital divide which caused by different social background of people. In Wijetunga’s article, he talked about the difference of the social class in Sri Lanka makes the difference of the mobile Internet use between privileged and unprivileged youth. For instance, when the privileged youth in Sri Lanka could enjoy nearly all the convenience brought by mobile Internet, those privileged youth in Sri Lanka still in the gap because they lack of language(English) skills and unfamiliar with the computer, although they have enthusiasm to contact with the latest technology. In Wasserman’s article, although penetration in some certain African countries is very high, lots of African people can not enjoy the convenience offered by mobile, because they cannot afford such expensive handsets and running costs.

One difference of mobile Internet use described in two articles is that, when the youth in Sri Lanka use their mobile Internet to access to the social network, people in the Africa use mobile Internet to do more things like “transfer money, check market prices, monitor elections, and send and receive public health or emergency messages”(Wasserman, 2011, p. 148), and people in South Africa even use mobile Internet to help themselves to participate in some political activities.

As for my own study, I want to study the relationship between the mobile Internet use and the development of NBA market in China. Because nowadays, more and more Chinese pay attention to NBA and in the meantime NBA pay more attention to Chinese because China is a very important overseas market. I’d like those Chinese high school and college students who pay attention to NBA as my sample population. And in my study, I will answer two research questions:

RQ1: What change has mobile Internet brought to Chinese high school and college students for ways they pay attention to NBA?

RQ2: To what extent does paying attention to NBA by using mobile Internet change Chinese high school and college students’ consumption of the NBA goods in reality?

The reason I’d like Chinese high school and college students to be my sample population is based on both reality of Chinese society and NBA overseas markets. In China, when people graduate from the high school or college, the majority of them have to face the cruel society (like they have to struggle for high-priced apartment), so they always don’t have much spare money for their habits, while when they in the school, because nearly all of Chinese high school and college students are sponsored by their parents, they have at least some freedom to using money for something they interest in. China now is (one of) the most important overseas markets of NBA, and because the situation I referred above, the main force of people in China that consuming NBA goods (like jersey) are high school and college students because they always concern about NBA news by using their mobile Internet and more and more interest in it thus finally like to pay money for products relate to it.

5 thoughts on “Mobile Internet

  1. Hi Lin’ao,
    I think the study you plan to conduct is very interesting. I am not familiar with NBA but I found that when I was in the high school, many my male classmates were addicted to watch NBA on their mobile phone in the classroom. It is a popular phenomenon in China. However, I was worried about your accessibility of the study because I think that students like to watch NBA on their mobile phone is just a phenomenon, which did not have enough research value. Yet I might do not consider comprehensively. Hope you can respond to my confusion. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Lin’ao,
    You did a great in summarizing the key similarities and differences of mobiles Internet’s uses in both studies. In addition, I like the topic you choose to study, and you provided a good reasoning for choosing this topic. The research questions seem reasonable, especially the second one. I think the second question needs to be revised. Your description of the population of the study is clear, and the reasons for selecting high school and college students make sense to me. I think it would be an excellent topic for a thesis.

    Like

  3. As an academic who secretly likes sports, I think this is a great study — and really valuable from a marketing perspective. I’d be curious if sports consumption has changed in China in the same way it has here, like people constantly checking their phones for updates and people “enhance” their sports-watching experience by commenting on Weibo or some other social media site while watching the games at the same time. (The equivalent of Sports Twitter). I don’t see why it would be different, and I imagine that mobile technology has made it a lot easier for the NBA to reach their fanbase in China. You should look into it.

    Like

  4. This is a very cool idea for a study, and I’ll bet a lot of people would be interested in the results. I knew the Chinese interest in the NBA has grown a lot, but I did not think about the mobile aspect before now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

